Love In The Time Of Corona Virus

We are all in this together

Liza Donnelly
2 min readMar 12, 2020

As a political cartoonist, it is difficult to know how to react to a serious crisis. Making jokes is fun; it relieves stress. I have heard some very funny ones lately about the corona virus.

In my time as a cartoonist, I have drawn about a lot of crises. For me, it started with 9/11, then the Charlie Hebdo murders, gun massacres in schools and other public places, suicide attacks around the world. Now a virus pandemic. How to respond?

Each cartoonist has their own style of approaching a subject. My particular response tends to be about bringing people together, to foster understanding and dialogue. I drew the above image after thinking about the pandemic for a few days. Where death is concerned, I tend to go for something that brings us together.

This pandemic is bringing the world together in an unusual way. I have not lived during something like this. Trump is not helping, he is not good at bringing people together; his MO is to push them apart.

But I believe in the generosity and intelligence of so many others. We can’t hug each other or shake hands, but we can care for one another in other ways and realize our common humanity. As a global community will overcome this.

Together.

--

--