Drawing Women

SCOTUS’s end of Roe V Wade Is an attack on women’s liberty

Liza Donnelly
2 min readMay 5, 2022

I have begun live drawing daily again, and this was yesterday’s live draw. If you want to watch me draw and talk ( or try to, sometimes in a halting manner because I’m drawing), join me every weekday at 5pm ET. Link below.

This idea came out of two merging ideas. First, I was so angry about the leaked draft of the SCOTUS decision to end Roe Vs Wade, but I didn’t want to draw anger. I saw many angry videos in the last few days, and they are important and I feel them. So I decided to just draw women. Draw the women who will not be able to have access to abortions, the women who don’t have the money or access to a car, women whose lives will be forever altered because of an unplanned pregnancy, or worse, a rape. As I draw them, I think about them and honor them.

The other idea was the Statue of Liberty holding the female symbol, an obvious reference to freedom and liberty for all women.

I combined the two.

Here is my Instagram, if you want to follow me, you will get notified of when I go live. It won’t always be political, it will be like what I did during the panemic, just drawing what I am hearing about in the culture or what’s on my mind. Sometimes I will draw on paper with various materials, other times, it will be on my iPad. I try to answer questions and comments from the stream of viewers. The biggest difference now is that sometimes I will live draw out in the world, whereever I happen to be; during the pandemic, I was always in my studio!

Drawing is about expression and connection with others.

https://www.instagram.com/tv/CdJr-gzDc24/?utm_source=ig_web_copy_link

--

--