Debates, Debates, Debates!

Some of my past live-drawings of Presidential debates

Liza Donnelly
4 min read6 days ago

Tomorrow’s historic debate is on my mind, as I know it is on your minds. I will be live-drawing it, which I have done for many years now.

Here are a few highlights of past debates, where I capture quotes that I think are important. Some of these quotes I think were pivotal in having an impact on these elections. “Will you shut up?” “Proud boys, stand back and stand by,” “You’re Putin’s puppet!” “I’m speaking”.”

All these were done in real time as they happened, and I post them immediately on Twitter, then Instagram. These are just a sample of the probably over a hundred drawings I have done at these debates! I published all of them on Medium, you can see here.

As I looked through a bunch of my files at these drawings and quotes, it was clear that so much of what was said is exactly as it was four and eight years ago. What we will see tomorrow will include the same topics, sort of. We will be watching for the tone, mood and tenor of the candidates.

--

--

Liza Donnelly

Visual journalist/writer for New Yorker, New York Times, WaPo. TED, SXSW speaker. Looking to change world w humor. newsletter:https://lizadonnelly.substack.com